Wednesday, August 23, 2006

Lib Dem Blog of the Year Awards

Niles's Blog has spotted the following in the Liberal Democrat Conference agenda for (I think) the Sunday:

Bloggers' Reception

Lib Dem Blog of the Year Awards

Come and see the inaugural Liberal Democrat bloggers awards being presented and hear from some of the top Lib Dem bloggers, including Lynne Featherstone MP.

21.00-23.00, Gloucester Room, Hilton Brighton Metropole

Does anyone know who has decided they are qualified to make these awards? Is it an official party thing?

If so, it is a little too reminiscent of the Labour Party's idea of offering "an up and coming blogger" access to their Party Conference in Manchester this year:
You'll be given access to all the key speeches and events at Conference and you'll be blogging from the floor about your experiences.
If blogging is to be something more than a substitute for shouting at the radio, we bloggers must be free spirits who blog from wherever we like. We must not be the sort to have our hair ruffled by the powers that be.

That said, anyone minded to offer me an award can find my e-mail address in the right-hand column.


Anonymous said...

More details (and an online form for nominating blogs) are on the Lib Dem website here.

As this is a new thing the party's doing, I'm very open to suggestions on how to do it better / worse / more often / less often etc.

I agree that having free spirits amongst bloggers is very important (though it'd be nice if you displayed the party's campaign buttons on this blog!) - but I don't think having an award contradicts that; rather it reflects the growing importance of bloggers.

Niles said...

The link that Mark gives also has at the bottom:

The judging panel will include blogging MP Lynne Featherstone, website pioneer Ed Davey MP and a member of Liberal Democrats Online, a group of Liberal Democrats who promote use of the internet and the development of party policies for the online area. The decision of the judges will be final and the competition is not open to any blogs run by the judges.

Jonathan Calder said...

Thanks for the information Mark and Niles.