Thursday, March 23, 2023

Four East Devon Independent councillors to stand for the Lib Dems in May

Four Independent councillors on East Devon District Council  - the leader of the council and three cabinet members - are to stand for the Liberal Democrats in May.

They are council leader Paul Arnott and the cabinet members Nick Hookway, Geoff Jung and Marianne Rixson.

Since 2019, the council has been run by the East Devon Alliance, comprising Lib Dem, Green and Independent councillors.

A spokesperson for the four told Devon Live:

"The historic election victory of Richard Foord MP last summer was a watershed moment. In order to grow a progressive, centrist East Devon – with Homes, the Environment and Economic Growth at its heart – we believe that by standing as Lib Dems we can help guarantee this for the future."

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Very interesting. Very interesting indeed. I wonder if that might lead to more public support for the Lib Dems from Claire Wright, the Independent candidate who has come second to the Tories in the last three elections in East Devon? (The local government authority covers the East Devon constituency as well as part of Tiverton and Honiton.)